Giving Scene | Best Dressed Awards; Vanessa Williams Hosts

Home / & Other Stuff / Giving Scene | Best Dressed Awards; Vanessa Williams Hosts
San Diego, 10 best dressed awards

A Moment in Time

Save the date for Leonard Simpson’s 10 Best Dressed Awards. It will be hosted by Honorary Chair (and former super model) Kelly Emberg along with Co-Chairs Mina Kooklani and Kristi Pieper on Thursday, November 13th at the Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines Hotel to benefit Dressed For Success.

The show will include a hosted cocktail reception, theatrical runway fashion show, awards ceremony, formal dinner, as well as a silent and live auction. The theme of this year’s gala is “A Moment in Time.” Doors open at 5:30 p.m. with dinner to be served at 7:00 p.m. Tickets start at $150 per person and are available at The “10 Best Dressed Awards” was founded by Simpson and Sally B. Thornton.

Dress for Success San Diego is honored to be selected as the beneficiary of Leonard Simpson’s 7th annual 10 Best Dressed Awards gala. The proceeds will help extend the reach of our lifeline of programs and services to hundreds of inspiring women who have overcome tremendous adversity on their journey to self-sufficiency,” said Dress for Success San Diego Founder and Executive Director Sylvia McKinney.

San Diego, 10 best dressed awards
Top row (left to right) John Winfield, Raymond Dale, Jonathon Collopy, Roberto De Gregorio, Dave Carothers, George Gould, Brent Wilsey, Patrick Kruer, Matthew Shillingburg
Bottom Row (left to right) Bibbi Herrmann Conner, Carmela Koenig, Laurie Black, Sally B. Thornton, Hélène Gould, Mina Kooklani, Lola Green, Jo Ann Kilty
Not shown in the picture: Paul Chasan, Darcy Delano Smith, Kathleen Connor, Shelley Zimmerman, Teri Valentina Rios


The 2014 “Best Dressed” honorees in the female category are Bibbi Herrman Conner, Carmela Koenig, Darcy Delano Smith, Helene Gould, Jo Ann Kilty, Laurie Black, Mina Kooklani, Teri Valentina Rios, Kathleen Connor, Shelley Zimmerman and Lola Green.

The 2014 “Best Dressed” honorees in the male category are Brent Wilsey, Dave Carothers, George Gould, John Winfield, Jonathon Collopy, Matthew Shillingburg, Patrick Kruer, Raymond Dale, Paul Chasan and Roberto De Gregorio.

Lifetime Achievement Award in Broadcast Journalism: Kimberly Hunt

Media Award: Vincent Andrunas

Lifetime Achievement Award in Fashion: Kathy Hogan

Civic Leadership Award: Ramin Pourteymour

Founder Award for Charitable Contribution: Sylvia McKinney

Publisher & Society Coverage Award: Margo Schwab

Best Actress and Style Award: Vanessa Williams

 The beneficiary of the Leonard Simpson’s 2014 “10 Best Dressed Awards” gala is Dress for Success San Diego, a local non-profit focused exclusively on empowering disadvantaged to women acquire jobs, build careers and improve the quality of life for their families. Dress for Success San Diego’s mission is to promote the economic independence of disadvantaged women by providing professional attire, a network of support and the career development tools to help women thrive in work and in life. The non-profit has served nearly 9,000 local women since 1998. For more information about Dress for Success San Diego visit:

Leave a Reply